Home Department of State United States Womens Bureau

United States Womens Bureau

United States Womens BureauWhat is the United States Women’s Bureau?

The United States Women’s Bureau is an agency of the United States Federal Government that operates within the United States Department of Labor. The Women’s Bureau was established as an Act of Congress in 1920 and continues its responsibility to carry out Public Law to promote the welfare of wage-earning women.

As a result of this general function, the United State’s Women’s Bureau aims to formulate standards and policies that promote women workers by improving their working conditions, increasing their efficiency and advancing their opportunities for a profitable form of employment. The United States Women’s Bureau, as a result of these goals, is the only federal agency in the United States mandated to represent the needs of wage-earning women in the public policy process.

Currently, the United States Women’s Bureau is assisting working women in the following ways: The Bureau provides financial education courses to Generation X and Generation Y women through a curriculum offered online and in classroom settings in a program called Wi$eUp; the Women’s Bureau aids business owners by developing policies and providing workplace flexibility for working women through a Flex-Options Project; the Women’s Bureau publishes fact sheets and electronic newsletters that specifically address workplace concerns and report the status of women workers; and lastly, the Women’s Bureau implements various internet technologies to broadcast its financial education public service campaign to working women and their families.

Women’s Bureau Quick Facts

The following details outline the administration of the Women’s Bureau:
The Women’s Bureau was founded in 1920
The headquarters of the Women’s Bureau are located in Washington, D.C.

The Women’s Bureau is responsible for the jurisdiction over the Federal Government of the United States

The head of the Women’s Bureau is Sara Diaz

The Women’s Bureau operates with roughly 1,000 employees

Government Agency of the Executive Branch

Government agencies are defined as organizations, councils, and offices operating under the jurisdiction of the Federal Government of the United States of America; each federal agency retains specific administrative jurisdiction over specific facets latent within the operations of the United States Government.

The Women’s Bureau functions as a government agency under the Executive Branch of the United States government, which is comprised of 3 total branches; in addition to the Executive branch – which is responsible for the regulation and enforcement of operational legislation existing within the United States of America – there also exists the Legislative and Judicial Branches.