U.S. Treasury Brief Outline of the Department of Treasury

Brief Outline of the Department of Treasury

Brief Outline of the Department of Treasury What is the Department of Treasury?

The Department of Treasury – also referred to by its official title of ‘the Department of the Treasury’ – is a Federal agency that operates within the United States of America, which is responsible for the provision regulatory and administrative measures with regard to the management of government spending and the United States’ economy:

Department of Treasury Quick Facts

The following details outline the administration of the Department of Treasury:

The Department of Treasury was founded on September 2nd, 1789 as a result of a Federal act passed by Congress; the first Secretary of the Treasury within the United States of America was Alexander Hamilton – a portrait of him can be identified on an American $10 currency note or bill

The headquarters of the Department of Treasury are located in Washington, D.C.

The Department of Treasury is responsible for the jurisdiction over a variety of government agencies, which range in objectives and responsibilities; these government agencies include the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), the Office of Thrift Supervision, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and the Bureau of Engraving and Printing – however, the Department of Treasury does not oversee the operations of the Federal Reserve

The Secretary of the Department of the Treasury is Timothy Geithner; Neal S. Wolin serves as the Deputy Secretary of the Treasury

Government Agency of the Executive Branch

Government agencies are defined as organizations, councils, and offices operating under the jurisdiction of the Federal Government of the United States of America; each federal agency retains specific administrative jurisdiction over specific facets latent within the operations of the United States Government.

The Department of Treasury functions as a government agency under the Executive Branch of the United States government, which is comprised of 3 total branches; in addition to the Executive branch – which is responsible for the regulation and enforcement of operational legislation existing within the United States of America – there also exists the Legislative and Judicial Branches.

Department of Treasury Associated Terms

The following terms and terminology are oftentimes associated with the operations and undertakings of the Department of Treasury:

Federal Budget

The Federal Budget is a financial instrument, which includes the analysis and development of spending and funding plans with regard to monies available to the United States’ Government in conjunction to debts incurred – the Department of the Treasury serves to regulate and oversee the spending behavior of the Federal government in accordance with financial plans, predictions, and reports furnished by financial researchers and analyists.

Department of Treasury Legality

Administrative Law is the legal field associated with events and circumstances in which the Federal Government of the United States engages its citizens, including the administration of government programs, the administration and operation of government agencies, and the establishment of a legal, regulatory federal standard. The Department of Treasury can be contacted through their mailing address, which is as follows:

Department of the Treasury

1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C.


(202) 622-2000

Previous articleFast Guide to the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Next articleA Guide to the Office of Legal Counsel